Three-fer Thursday post 3: Chocolate syrup

We go through chocolate syrup in my house like nobody’s business. Whenever I have ice cream, it seems like the chocolate syrup is the star of the show and the ice cream is the garnish. I love it on pancakes. I drink it out of the jug when I need a quick fix. I’m in love, and it’s bad.
When we first started working to save money this year, the first thing I compromised on was getting generic chocolate syrup rather than the good stuff. Then I found this recipe on Pinterest. I convinced my husband to let me try it when we ran out of syrup last time rather than buying a new container. We had all of the ingredients in the house already, so it wouldn’t be a total wash if it turned out bad. This time, I tripled the recipe. Before I give my verdict, here are some pictures.

20121214-011625.jpg
Ingredients: white sugar, cocoa powder, salt, vanilla.

20121214-011740.jpg
This is what 4 1/2 cups of sugar looks like in my stock pot. Remember, this recipe is tripled, so usually you only use 3/4 cups.

20121214-011922.jpg
After adding my cocoa powder. I didn’t measure this one; I just dumped the rest of my container of cocoa powder in.

20121214-012017.jpg
After adding 1 cup of water and a pinch of salt, then stirring until combined.

20121214-012056.jpg
Bring the mixture to a boil, then reduce heat simmer for a minute or so. Take off the heat and stir in vanilla. Let it cool.
This syrup is a similar consistency to store bought chocolate syrup once it’s been refrigerated. The flavor, however, is out of this world. The vanilla adds so much depth to an already great flavor. After using this recipe, I will probably never go back to buying store bought syrup again. It would also make a great gift!
Verdict: huge win.
Edited to add: tripling the recipe filled a regular sized chocolate syrup container plus a little extra. The extra is in Tupperware in my fridge and may end up going to my mother’s house when she comes up this weekend 🙂

Leave a comment