“Better than crack” crackers

For my first documented Pinterest experiment, I decided to try these yummy looking crackers from Sweet Teeth. The original blogger said that they are “not your everyday cracker. They are for a special occasion. Like a Tuesday.” I figured Thursdays counted as a special occasion, too. So a Pinterest experiment was born.

Now, I didn’t have many of the ingredients called for in the original recipe so there was quite a bit of improvising. I used the rest of my veggie oil, maybe 1/2 cup. I also don’t keep ranch dressing packets on hand, so instead I used onion salt, garlic powder, and Italian seasoning for what I think is a pretty reasonable approximation. I also really didn’t feel like measuring my pepper flakes (which I was really surprised to find!), so I just tossed a bunch in. Hand mixed everything in my big metal bowl and tossed ’em in a 200 degree oven for about 10 minutes, undisturbed.

Oh.
My.
Gosh.

They are AHmazing. I can’t begin to describe how much I love them. Maybe a bit too peppery, but I’m also kind of a pepper wuss. Hubby loves them quite a bit. He took a plate to bed to munch on before his nap. This means they are a recipe to keep and make at least 6 times per week.

Verdict? Rousing success!

20120927-215821.jpg
The final product, after a few hours of munching. Yum!

One thought on ““Better than crack” crackers

Leave a Reply

