Fake “boxed” brownie mix

I am a self-confessed chocoholic. Chocolate is a daily necessity for me, and lately I have not been getting enough. Brownies are my vehicle of choice for delivering chocolate to my mouth hole. I’ve been craving brownies for the last week or so and decided that today was a great day to make some. I’ve been seeing this recipe floating around on Pinterest for a while and decided to give it a shot.

A brief word about my mixed feelings about mixes- I love easy. Easy is good. If I can dump one thing into another, put it in the oven, and have delicious brownies shortly later, I am sold. However, I was raised in a family where desserts are usually made from scratch. My mom also likes mixes, but we don’t tell my grandmother. Mixes are a chemical-filled copout, but they make me happy. Mixed feelings, see?

So making this mix was pretty easy. I grabbed my ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder20120929-211802.jpg
I poured everything right into my plastic baggie. My mixing bowl was dirty and I didn’t feel like cleaning it yet, plus it was really easy to just mix in the bag.20120929-212141.jpg
Then I took a break. Making mixes is hard work, after all. A few hours later, I went back to my mix and started making the batter. I added two eggs, 1/2 cup of veggie oil, and a little more than a teaspoon of vanilla and whisked it all together. On first taste, the batter was a little grainy from the sugar and tasted strongly of vanilla. It wasn’t necessarily bad, just different from usual mixes. The consistency was also a little different in the bowl. Again, not bad, just different.

I poured my batter into a lightly greased 8×8 pan (if you want to use a 9×13, commenters on the original post said that you can use a double batch). It looked good, just needed a bit more chocolate.
20120929-213505.jpgBefore more chocolate.20120929-213543.jpgAfter adding some chips.

I put it in a 350 degree oven for about 22 minutes. The chocolate chips increased the cooking time by a few minutes. It looked really good when it came out.

20120929-213817.jpgIt looked even better once it was cut.

20120929-214314.jpgThese were waaaay better than I was expecting. They’re not too chewy and the added chocolate chips made it just the perfect amount of chocolate. The best part about these is that they don’t taste like they’re from a mix and really, they’re technically not. But the dry ingredients will keep for a few months in a cool, dark place for a few months so you can make the dry bit in advance. The original blogger said that she was able to make three baggies in five minutes, so there’s three batches of brownies with half the work already done!

Verdict: success. Definitely worth making again, and I can’t wait to experiment a little more with this! Try it with ice cream and a little chocolate sauce on top for a full chocoholic experience.

Leave a Reply

