Quickie post: onion straws

I couldn’t sleep before work tonight (1-4 am!) so I decided to experiment instead. This time it was with the Pioneer Woman’s onion straws recipe. I love onion straws and can’t readily find them at local restaurants, so I figured I’d give this a try and hopefully it would curb my craving. And it did, sort of.

But OH MY GOODNESS are these hard to make. It took about an hour start to finish to chop and dredge the onions, prepare the flour, heat the oil, and cook the onions. I only made about half the recipe and it still took forever. Now I have a pot full of cooking oil that I need to take care of as well as more dishes to do. Hubby was not too thrilled about that bit.

Verdict: really yummy, but definitely only a sometimes snack. I can’t afford enough vegetable oil to make it more than that, plus the inconvenience is a little too much to deal with.

Leave a Reply

