Thursday night facials- baking soda mask and homemade Bioré strips

This semester has been stressful, which is why I haven’t been able to post in a month. Tonight I decided to de-stress a bit with some home facials! First up, a baking soda facial. I’ve been doing this for a few weeks now, usually only once a week. Three parts baking soda to one part water is what’s recommended in the blog. I’m still working on getting the ratio quite to where I want it to be, but it still works. I had a huge zit on my chin and it drew the gunk right out. Gross? Yes. Effective? Also yes, so it’s worth it. Definitely moisturize right after and make sure all the baking soda is washed off, or you will have a serious case of dry face. Verdict on this one: success, particularly once I make the ratios perfect.
Next up, homemade Bioré strips. Most recipes call for gelatin. I don’t have any in my house and I didn’t want to use my last eggs, so I found this recipe for eggless, gelatin-free face strips. I found it easier to use a fork to combine the ingredients totally before microwaving it. I also used a Q-Tip to apply the mixture to my face. I focused mainly on my nose, since that’s where most of my problems are. Fast forward half an hour (double the time it suggests to leave the mask on for) and it still isn’t dry enough to peel off. I have to go to bed so I can function at work tomorrow, so I just washed it off. My skin is definitely softer, but nothing came out of my pores because it just got rubbed off. I’d be willing to try it again, but definitely on a night when I have more time to play with it. Verdict: meh, but worth another try.

Leave a Reply

